Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

The Mighty Clouds Of Joy — Kickin’

The Mighty Clouds Of Joy — Kickin’

The Mighty Clouds Of Joy


Release date: December 8, 2023


Reissue of the R&B/Gospel classic from 1975 with two bonus tracks.

From in the late 1950’s, The Mighty Clouds Of Joy released their initial records on the Peacock label, alongside Gospel legends The Dixie Hummingbirds, The Five Bild Boys Of Alabama, The Sensational Nightingales, and more.

In 1974, they moved to ABC Records, and along with producer Dave Crawford (Wilson Pickett, The J. Geils Band, B. B. King), released their acclaimed crossover release, It’s Time. The following year, Kickin’ exploded onto the charts, landing a #1 single on Billboard’s Disco Action Chart with its lead track, “Mighty High.” The album contained other high-energy originals, as well as covers of Stevie Wonder, Billy Preston, and Kiki Dee. Gospel music had branched into universal music, and songs that spoke to listeners of all genres. Despite the criticism they received from the Gospel community, their move into the world of Gospel-based R&B would prove popular, they would become three-time Grammy® winners.

This reissue of Kickin’ contains the original 1975 album, plus the rare, single versions of the #1 hit “Mighty High” and the ever present “You Are So Beautiful” (which was less than a year old at the time of this cover).

Packaging contains a new essay from Tim Dillinger-Curenton, a music historian with a focus on the worlds of gospel, soul, contemporary Christian, and women’s music. Kickin’ is a look back at music evolution in the mid ‘70s and demonstrates how music transcends genres.


    CD / Digital Track List:

  1. Mighty High
  2. Leanin’
  3. You Are So Beautiful
  4. I Got The Music In Me & Superstition
  5. Millionaire
  6. Touch My Soul
  7. Standing On The Real Side
  8. Everything Is Love
    Bonus Tracks:

  1. You Are So Beautiful (Single Edit)
  2. Mighty High (Single Edit)

Cat: OV-528

Categories: , , , , ,