Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Howdy Glenn — I Can Almost See Houston

Howdy Glenn — I Can Almost See Houston

Howdy Glenn

I Can Almost See Houston

Release date: January 20, 2023


11 tracks from “The Singing Fireman” available digitally for the first time, including a previously unissued bonus track.

“In 1977, Morris “Howdy” Glenn spent six weeks on the Billboard Country Singles chart, and was nominated for Top new Male Vocalist by the Academy of Country Music, alongside Vern Gosdin, Mel McDaniel, and winner Eddie Rabbitt. Today, virtually no one––even among diehard classic country fans—has even heard of Howdy Glen.”


Scott B. Bomar


While Black influences are inextricably intertwined with the formation of the genre, there is a very short list of Black country performers who made a splash on the national charts or the public consciousness in the 20th century.

After winning the 1974 “Trucker’s Jamboree” at the Hollywood Palladium, Inglewood California firefighter Howdy Glenn began a recording career that not only gained him regional hits on an independent label, but found him appearing to rapturous crowds whenever and wherever he performed live. After singing at the Academy of Country Music’s general meeting, he was signed to Warner Bros. Records by Andy Wickham (who had also signed Joni Mitchell, Gram Parsons, Emmylou Harris, Buck Owens, and more). Warner Bros. released his first Wickham-produced single in 1977. His second, a cover of Willie Nelson’s “Touch Me,” spent six weeks on the charts. Glenn headlined at Gilley’s in Pasadena, Texas, and found himself nominated for the ACM’s Top New Male Vocalist award. It appeared as though country music had a possible new star on the rise.

But, as happens inexplicably for some artists, after a few singles, and more material left in the can, a new album from “The Singing Fireman” (as he was dubbed by Warner Bros.) never materialized. Glenn’s early singles were compiled on the Indian Head label LP I Can Almost See Houston, and he recorded another single, released on his own Fire Records imprint. Both failed to land further success, and Glenn continued on with his career in firefighting.

I Can Almost See Houston collects all the recordings Glenn made for Cream Records, Merrittorious Productions, Indian Head Records, and Fire Records (including one previously unissued track from the Fire Records sessions), and reexamines the importance and legacy of Howdy Glenn. Produced for release by Grammy® nominee Scott B. Bomar (The Bakersfield Sound) and Grammy® winner Cheryl Pawelski (Hank Williams – The Garden Spot Programs, 1950), with Restoration and Mastering by Grammy® winner Michael Graves, I Can Almost See Houston not only shines a light on the history of Black artists in country music, but Howdy Glenn’s rightful place in it.

    Digital Track List:

  1. Who Makes A Wino’s Bed
  2. I Can Almost See Houston
  3. You’ll Remember Me
  4. I’m Here To Drink It All
  5. Looking At The World (Instrumental)
  6. Lucy Ain’t Your Loser Looking Good
  7. Where Did The Years Go
  8. Has Been Honky Tonk Queen
  9. Old Dogs, Children And Watermelon Wine
  10. I Can Almost See Houston (Instrumental)
  11. Cowboys Ain’t Supposed To Cry [Previously Unissued Bonus Track]
  12. Mule Skinner Blues [Bonus Track]
  13. You Ought To Hear Me Cry [Bonus Track]

Cat: OV-508

Categories: , ,