Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Spain — I Believe

Spain — I Believe


I Believe

Release date: August 28, 2012


Spain’s albums should have been released on vinyl from the very beginning. Period.

How was this not the case? The 1990s that’s how. Omnivore Recordings and Spain are correcting this error in nature. For your listening pleasure, all three original Spain albums are being released on 180-gram vinyl. The first pressing of each title (1,000 copies) is on limited-edition colored vinyl, translucent blue for The Blue Moods Of Spain, clear vinyl for She Haunts My Dreams, and translucent orange for I Believe.

In the mid-late 1990s, several songs from Blue Moods were featured in different films and TV shows. Film director Wim Wenders commissioned the band to write a song for his film End Of Violence. Spain’s song “Spiritual” was recorded by Johnny Cash on his Grammy-winning, Rick Rubin-produced Unchained, and by Charlie Haden and Pat Metheny on their Grammy-winning Beyond The Missouri Sky.

The third album, I Believe, was released in 2001, after which Haden took an extended break from the band, recording a solo CD for Dreamworks Records (later released on his own Diamond Soul Recordings). Spirituals: The Best Of Spain, was released in 2003 and that could have been that, fortunately it was not.

Josh re-formed Spain in 2007 with all-new members and began playing gigs again. 2012 saw the release of their first full-length album of new material in over ten years, The Soul Of Spain, and they’ve hit the road again, playing shows in Europe and returning to the States for concerts in celebration of their new album and their catalog vinyl reissues!


    LP Track List:
    Side 1:

  1. She Haunts My Dreams
  2. Born To Love Her
  3. You Were Meant For Me
  4. Do You See The Light
  5. Mary
    Side 2:

  1. Make Your Body Move
  2. I Believe
  3. Oh That Feeling
  4. If We Kissed
  5. Long Time Ago

Cat: OV-32

Categories: , , , ,