Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Peter Case — HWY 62

Peter Case — HWY 62

Peter Case

HWY 62

Release date: October 30, 2015


Take a trip with the incredible Peter Case!

Peter Case, founding member of the Nerves and leader of the Plimsouls, and the first troubadour of the post-punk era, returns with his first album of new songs since 2010’s Wig! The Nerves’ 1976 “Hanging On The Telephone” EP, its title song covered by Blondie, remains a classic and has earned the band a strong following of young fans around the world. The Plimsouls’ song “A Million Miles Away” is a garage band/power pop classic. Case’s debut solo album, produced by T Bone Burnett, earned him his first Grammy nomination and spearheaded a songwriter movement, now dubbed Americana. Twelve solo albums and two more Grammy nominations followed, including one for his 2007 album Let Us Now Praise Sleepy John.

All along, Case had continued to tour consistently. HWY 62, due out October 30, 2015, collects tales from his journey, and brilliantly encompasses every facet of his diverse and critically acclaimed career. Much like a travelogue, HWY 62 includes pieces of Americana, blues, pop, and folk—all anchored by Case’s knack for creating the perfect hook.

The album takes its title from the highway that connects Ciudad Juarez with Niagara Falls, Ontario. Case was born a block from it, in the Buffalo area. “I always saw HWY 62 as my gateway to the country, my doorway to the west,” he says.

Guests joining Peter on the trip include Ben Harper, Jebin Bruni (PIL), Cindy Wasserman and David Carpenter (Dead Rock West), D.J. Bonebrake (X), Don Heffington (Lone Justice), and others. The album was co-produced by Case and Grammy® winner Sheldon Gomberg (Rickie Lee Jones, Mark Eitzel, Ben Harper with Charlie Musselwhite).

Available on CD, digital, and LP (first pressing on yellow vinyl), HWY 62 joins the ranks as another stellar album from Peter Case. A trip you should definitely take.

“Everybody says I’m a troubadour, since I perform alone and bring the tales. The challenge was to make a “troubadour album” that rocks with electric energy—Ben Harper and D.J. Bonebrake were key to that,” says Case. “HWY 62 connects east with west, north and south. I’m connecting three-chord rock ’n’ roll, to all kinds of American music, bringing together stories I’ve lived and found along the way, music about now.”


    CD / LP / Digital Track List:

  1. Pelican Bay
  2. Waiting On A Plane
  3. New Mexico
  4. Water From A Stone
  5. All Dressed Up (For Trial)
  6. If I Go Crazy
  7. The Long Good Time
  8. Evicted
  9. Long Time Gone
  10. Bluebells
  11. HWY 62

Cat: OV-146

Categories: , , , , , , ,