Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Gleaming Spires — Walk On Well Lighted Streets

Gleaming Spires — Walk On Well Lighted Streets

Gleaming Spires

Walk On Well Lighted Streets

Release date: September 17, 2021


Sophomore album from Leslie Bohem and David Kendrick (Sparks/Devo) featuring the hit “Christian Girl’s Problems.”

Leslie Bohem and David Kendrick met in the late ‘70s when David saw Les’ band Bates Motel. Kendrick joined as the band’s drummer. They soon entered the studio with musician/producer, Andrew Gold, to capture their repertoire on tape. They garnered a regional following and played gigs up and down the West Coast, but a record contract eluded them. They met Ron and Russel Mael of Sparks in 1980 and invited them to come see the band. But, instead of the brothers producing them, they asked Leslie and David to join Sparks.

Their debut, Songs Of The Spires, was released in 1981 and the song, “Are You Ready For The Sex Girls” was a radio hit and MTV staple, even being featured in the films Revenge Of The Nerds and The Last American Virgin. Still on tour as members of Sparks, Bohem and Kendrick added Bates Motel guitarist Bob Haag and Sparks keyboardist Jimbo Goodwin to the line-up. The new four member version of Gleaming Spires recorded Walk On Well Lighted Streets which appeared in 1983. They once again worked with Stephen Hague (Pet Shop Boys, New Order, O. M. D.) as their producer and contributor.

This new, expanded edition of Walk On Well Lighted Streets is produced for release by Kendrick, Chaim O’Brien-Blumenthal, and Grammy®-winner Cheryl Pawelski features the original album, the Party EP produced by Greg Penny (k.d. lang, Elton John), two tracks from Revenge Of The Nerds, and their contribution to the film Bad Manners—which gets its first official release here. Packaging features expanded artwork, lyrics, photos, an essay from O’Brien-Blumenthal, plus interviews and track by track commentary from Bohem and Kendrick.

Get out and Walk On Well Lighted Streets!


    CD / Digital Track List:

  1. Mining
  2. You’re Right
  3. Big Surprise
  4. Walk On Well Lighted Streets
  5. Fun Type
  6. A Christian Girl’s Problem
  7. Happy Boy
  8. At Together
  9. The Making Love Project
  10. Yes I Can
    Bonus Tracks:

  1. Funk For Children
  2. Does Your Mother Know?
  3. Christine
  4. Brain Button
  5. Funk For Children (Part II)
  6. Brain Button (Part II)
  7. It’s Kinda Like The Movies*
  8. Are You Ready For The Sex Girls? (Full Band Version)
  9. All Night Party
    * Previously unissued.

Cat: OV-445

Categories: , , ,