Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Cindy Lee Berryhill — Garage Orchestra

Cindy Lee Berryhill — Garage Orchestra

Cindy Lee Berryhill

Garage Orchestra

Release date: August 2, 2019


Reissue of the 1994 release Rolling Stone gave 4 stars, contains 9 previously unissued bonus tracks.

Anti-Folk founder Cindy Lee Berryhill burst onto the music scene in 1987 with her acclaimed debut Who’s Gonna Save The World? and followed it up two years later with the Lenny Kaye produced Naked Movie Star. However, the world would have to wait until 1994 for her next release, the ambitious Garage Orchestra.

Earning a 4-star review from Rolling Stone, Garage Orchestra was a departure from the more folk-rock leanings of her first two albums, with Cindy Lee’s singing and playing being augmented by instrumentation from strings, brass, woodwinds, and even toy piano, marimba, and tympani. Her songs had more of a ’70s singer/songwriter vibe this time around, and many had declared it the best album of her career thus far.

After Cindy Lee reappeared in 2017 with her first new album in a decade, The Adventurist, it became apparent that her 1990s releases warranted reissue. Garage Orchestra returns with the original 10 songs plus 9 previously unissued bonus tracks! It’s the perfect way for those who recently discovered her to look back, and a wonderful upgrade for those who love the original.

Packaging contains photos from Berryhill’s archives, as well as new liner notes from her. Cindy Lee will be touring in the fall, and we’re sure tracks from this release will make their way out of the garage and onto the stage. So, now is the perfect time to (re)experience Garage Orchestra.


    CD / Digital Track List:

  1. Father Of The Seventh Son
  2. I Wonder Why
  3. Radio Astronomy
  4. Gary Handeman
  5. Song For Brian
  6. UFO Suite
  7. I Want Stuff
  8. Every Someone Tonight
  9. Scariest Thing In The World
  10. Etude For Ph. Machine
    Previously Unissued Bonus Tracks:

  1. Garage Orchestra Commercial (I)
  2. My Little Broken Heart (San Diego Music Awards 1992)
  3. Father Of The Seventh Son (Instrumental)
  4. The Creator
  5. Garage Orchestra Commercial (II)
  6. Song For Brian (Alternate Version)
  7. Garage Orchestra Commercial (III)
  8. Radio Astronomy (Instrumental)
  9. UFO Suite (Pre-Assembly Tracking Session)

Cat: OV-339

Categories: , , , ,