Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Matthew Sweet — Catspaw

Matthew Sweet — Catspaw

Matthew Sweet


Release date: January 15, 2021


The 11th solo release from Matthew Sweet

(figuratively, uncommon) Someone or something that comes down quickly upon a victim in the manner of a cat’s paw.

Matthew Sweet played in bands in Athens, Georgia as that scene exploded, collaborating with R.E.M.’s Michael Stipe, playing in Linda Stipe’s Oh-OK, and The Buzz Of Delight. That work scooped him up into the major label world making countless acclaimed solo records, forming the supergroup The Thorns with Shawn Mullins and Pete Droge, and beginning a series of covers albums with The Bangles’ Susannah Hoffs. Now, it’s time for Matthew to just plain rock out by himself again.

Omnivore Recordings is proud to announce the release of Catspaw—written, produced, recorded, mixed, and entirely preformed (save ferocious drumming from Ric Menck of Velvet Crush) by Matthew at his home studio. Mastered by Bob Ludwig, the Hofner bass and Novo guitars sing and howl, harkening back to classics like Girlfriend and Altered Beast—all while retaining the hooks that dig into the listener. Well, like a cat’s paw.

Available on CD, Digital, and Vinyl, Catspaw opens a new chapter in the storied history of Matthew Sweet—his first album in his fifth decade as a recording artist. It may seem cute on the outside, but be prepared to get smacked by Catspaw.


    CD / LP / Digital Track List:

  1. Blown Away
  2. Give A Little
  3. Challenge The Gods
  4. Come Home
  5. Drifting
  6. Best Of Me
  7. Stars Explode
  8. Hold On Tight
  9. At A Loss
  10. No Surprise
  11. Coming Soon
  12. Parade Of Lights

Cat: OV-408

Categories: , , , , ,

Tags: ,