Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

The Staple Singers — Africa 80

The Staple Singers — Africa 80

The Staple Singers

Africa 80

Release date: May 10, 2024


Live set from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Gospel Hall of Fame, and Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award winners, featuring hits “Let’s Do It Again,” Respect Yourself,” “Touch A Hand, Make A Friend,” and more

The Staple Singers emerged into the public conscious in the early 1950s and over the course of their influential career, transformed how listeners experienced Gospel music. During the Civil Rights movement, Roebuck “Pops” Staples discovered that their music could both enlighten and inspire a new generation. Signing with Stax Records, they began to rule not only the Gospel charts, but the Pop and R&B ones as well, with hits like “I’ll Take You There” (which topped both the Pop & R&B charts), “Respect Yourself,” “Touch A Hand, Make A Friend,” and more. After Stax closed, they moved to Curtis Mayfield’s Curtom Records and 1975 saw them hit #1 on both the Pop & R&B Charts again with “Let’s Do It Again.” Three additional albums for Warner Bros. closed out the decade. (Expanded editions of Let’s Do It Again (1975), Pass It On (1976), Family Tree (1977), and Unlock Your Mind (1978) are available from Omnivore Recordings)

An international tour sponsored by the U.S. Government found the Staples performing across the continent of Africa in 1980. The set included recent and classic hits like “Let’s Do It Again,” “Respect Yourself,” standards “Will The Circle Be Unbroken,” “Come Go With Me,” choice covers like “Ease On Down The Road” from The Wiz, and the Bacharach/David classic, “A House Is Not A Home.”

Now, with restoration and mastering from multiple Grammy-winning engineer, Michael Graves, Africa ’80 presents a look into this ever-evolving musical and National treasure. New liner notes from Tim Dillinger-Curenton contextualize the band’s story, legacy, and detail the tour and recording. Africa ’80 delivers a snapshot of this powerful group on tour for the first time on the African continent.


    CD / Digital Track List:

  1. Introduction
  2. Ease On Down The Road
  3. Let’s Do It Again
  4. Respect Yourself
  5. Come Go With Me
  6. Why Am I Treated So Bad
  7. A House Is Not A Home
  8. Will The Circle Be Unbroken
  9. He’s Alright
  10. Touch A Hand, Make A Friend
  11. Touch A Hand, Make A Friend (Reprise)

Cat: OV-544

Categories: , , , ,

Tags: ,