Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Adam Wade — The Coed Albums: And Then Came Adam / Adam And Evening

Adam Wade — The Coed Albums: And Then Came Adam / Adam And Evening

Adam Wade

The Coed Albums: And Then Came Adam / Adam And Evening

Release date: September 11, 2020


SAVE 50% ON CD JULY 14-21, 2022

Both of Adam’s original Coed albums.

Not many singers went directly from being on the team of the world’s top polio vaccine researchers to making a string of hit records. In fact, there’s only one: Adam Wade. Blessed with a fine-tuned set of pipes tailor-made for sustained pop success, Wade scored his first hit for George Paxton and Marvin Cane’s New York-based Coed Records in late 1959 and developed into one of the label’s top stars.

from the liner notes by Bill Dahl


From his debut album, And Then Came Adam, Wade sent two songs up the charts. “Tell Her For Me” made it to #66, and “Ruby” fared a little better at #58. His follow up album, Adam And Evening, saw the song, “Gloria’s Theme” check in on the charts at #74. Though his single releases fared far better than album cuts, Wade’s albums were lush affairs with ornate arrangements and harmony-laden choruses courtesy of The Bel-Aire Singers. Unfortunately for Wade, towards the end of 1961, his most successful year, the principals at Coed dissolved their partnership necessitating a label switch by the singer. The interruption blunted any momentum that Coed had been building. He moved over to Epic, but only hit the charts once more in 1965. Though he continued recording for other labels throughout his career, Wade found more success on television, in film and on the stage.

Wade’s acting work can be seen on the small screen in shows as varied as network soap operas to guest shots on Sanford & Son, The Jeffersons, Good Times, and It’s Happening!! And on the silver screen in classics such as Shaft and Across 110th Street. In 1975, Wade made television history as the first African-American game show host on television’s Musical Chairs.

As the original liner notes from Adam And Evening state, “Adam Wade possesses a truly beautiful voice together with a brilliant style of quiet elegance,” and Omnivore is proud to present the albums where a lifetime in show business began. Remastered by Grammy®-winning engineer, Michael Graves, Wade’s first two albums have never sounded better. New liner notes from author Bill Dahl complete the package.


    CD / Digital Track List:
    And Then Came Adam:

  1. Tenderly
  2. Tell Her For Me
  3. Just In Time
  4. First Love
  5. Witchcraft
  6. So In Love
  7. Fascination
  8. Ruby
  9. A Moment Of Madness
  10. I Had The Craziest Dream
  11. I’m Wise
  12. Around The World
    Adam And Evening:

  1. Sleepy Time Gal
  2. We Kiss In A Shadow
  3. Polka Dots And Moonbeams
  4. Gloria’s Theme (from Butterfield 8)
  5. Guess I’ll Hang My Tears Out To Dry
  6. Canadian Sunset
  7. My Reverie
  8. I Have Dreamed
  9. I Couldn’t Sleep A Wink Last Night
  10. For You
  11. Dreamy
  12. The Party’s Over

Cat: OV-391

Categories: , , , ,

Tags: ,