Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Townes Van Zandt — Sunshine Boy: The Unheard Studio Sessions And Demos 1971 – 1972

Townes Van Zandt — Sunshine Boy: The Unheard Studio Sessions And Demos 1971 – 1972

Townes Van Zandt

Sunshine Boy: The Unheard Studio Sessions And Demos 1971 - 1972

Release date: May 21, 2013


Unheard versions of legendary songs by one of our most treasured songwriters!

Great songs and great albums refract you back at yourself. You remember where you were…and who you were…when they inhabited your life. To melodies spun from ancient cloth, he set words that resonate on many levels. He had the storytelling ability of a novelist, the imagery of a poet, and the easy conversationalism of a late-night DJ. In his laconic drawl, it all sounded so effortless, as if the songs were sitting in the ethers waiting to be retrieved. Townes liked to reinforce the idea that his songs were simply waiting for him to raise the antenna, but much of his work is too craftsmanlike to take that seriously.

The art of Townes Van Zandt reveals itself a little at a time. Every hearing brings forth something you can’t believe you missed all the other times, or something that rings even truer today than back when. The alternate versions add an entirely new dimension, like seeing someone you thought you knew so well in a new light. The new songs are simply good to have when it seemed as if the barrel was empty. And so here are more than two hours of Townes Van Zandt—music unheard since the engineer peeled off a little splicing tape to seal the box around forty years ago.


    2-CD Track List:
    Disc 1 – Studio Sessions:

  1. T For Texas
  2. Who Do You Love
  3. Sunshine Boy
  4. Where I Lead Me
  5. Blue Ridge Mountains
  6. No Deal
  7. Pancho & Lefty (Alternate 1972 Mix Without Strings and Horns)
  8. To Live Is To Fly
  9. You Are Not Needed Now
  10. Don’t Take It Too Bad
  11. Sad Cinderella
  12. Mr. Mudd & Mr. Gold
  13. White Freight Liner Blues
  14. Two Hands
  15. Lungs
  16. Dead Flowers
    Disc 2 – Demos:

  1. Heavenly Houseboat Blues
  2. Diamond Heel Bllues
  3. To Live Is To Fly
  4. Tower Song
  5. You Are Not Needed Now
  6. Mr. Mudd & Mr. Gold
  7. Highway Kind
  8. Greenboro Woman
  9. When He Offers His Hand
  10. Dead Flowers
  11. Old Paint
  12. Standin’

Cat: OV-15

Categories: , , , ,