Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Sam Phillips —Martinis & Bikinis

Sam Phillips —Martinis & Bikinis

Sam Phillips

Martinis & Bikinis

Release date: September 17, 2012


Reissue of the 1994 classic album produced by T Bone Burnett with 4 bonus tracks picked by Sam.

While Sam Phillips’ previous releases were regarded as pure pop treasures, everything seemed to completely fall into place for her fourth—1994’s Martinis & Bikinis. With then husband, T Bone Burnett once again behind the boards, Phillips delivered a masterpiece. How could she not with amazing songs and a brilliant cast of musicians, including XTC’s Colin Moulding, R.E.M.’s Peter Buck, Marvin Etzioni and Don Heffington from Lone Justice, Heartbreaker Benmont Tench, Marc Ribot, Mickey Curry, and arrangements from some guy named Van Dyke Parks!

Omnivore’s edition is even more spectacular than the original, as it includes four bonus tracks, picked by Sam herself, and one, “Strawberry Road” (2012 version), newly recorded for this release. Available on CD and—for the first time ever—on vinyl! The first pressing of 1,500 will be on double white vinyl.


    CD / 2-LP Track List:

  1. Love And Kisses
  2. Signposts
  3. Same Rain
  4. Baby I Can’t Please You
  5. Circle Of Fire
  6. Strawberry Road
  7. When I Fall
  8. Same Changes
  9. Black Sky
  10. Fighting With Fire
  11. I Need Love
  12. Wheel Of The Broken Voice
  13. Gimme Some Truth
    Bonus Tracks:

  1. I Need Love with the Section Quartet*
  2. Fighting With Fire (Remix)
  3. Black Sky (Version 2)*
  4. Strawberry Road (2012 Version)*
    * Previously Unissued.

Cat: OV-24

Categories: , , , , ,

Tags: ,