Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Big Star — Complete Third: Vol. 3: Final Masters

Big Star — Complete Third: Vol. 3: Final Masters

Big Star

Complete Third: Vol. 3: Final Masters

Release date: May 26, 2017


Double LP including every originally released master recording!

The story of Big Star’s Third is legendary, and its eventual release on numerous labels through the years saw tracks added, removed, and re-sequenced. Complete Third gathered up all existing tracks recorded for the album, was years in the making, and its eventual 3-CD release placed it on countless “Best of 2016” lists. Vinyl components began rolling out at the end of last year with Vol. 1: Demos To Sessions To Roughs arriving in November and Vol. 2: Roughs To Mixes in February 2017. Now, Vol. 3: Final Masters is here to complete the trilogy.

Complete Third: Volume 3: Final Masters contains every released master recording from all officially released versions of the original Third on 3 sides of vinyl. As an added bonus, the CD boxed set’s hidden track (a previously unissued Strings/Vocals-Only Mix of “Thank You Friends”) takes its place on a specially etched Side 4.

This is the ultimate way to hear what everyone heard throughout the years, on different labels, and in different countries. The third time is the charm for Complete Third on vinyl.


    2-LP Track List:
    Side 1:

  1. Stroke It Noel
  2. Downs
  3. Femme Fatale
  4. Thank You Friends
  5. Holocaust
  6. Jesus Christ
  7. Blue Moon
    Side 2:

  1. Kizza Me
  2. For You
  3. O, Dana
  4. Nightime
  5. Whole Lotta Shakin’ Goin’ On
  6. Kanga Roo
  7. Take Care
    Side 3:

  1. Big Black Car
  2. Dream Lover
  3. You Can’t Have Me
  4. Till The End Of The Day
  5. Lovely Day
  6. Nature Boy
    Side 4 – Laser-Etched:

  1. Thank You Friends (Vocals/Strings-Only Mix)
    Previously unissued.

Cat: OV-212

Categories: , , ,

Tags: , ,