Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Soul Asylum — Clam Dip & Other Delights

Soul Asylum — Clam Dip & Other Delights

Soul Asylum

Clam Dip & Other Delights

LP Release date: February 8, 2019


Soul Asylum’s classic EP expanded to LP length.

Soul Asylum were inheritor’s of the throne in the Minneapolis scene launched by The Replacements and Hüsker Dü. Soul Asylum stood out because of their smart, punky, hard rock songs and relentless work ethic. They made four records for hometown label Twin/Tone Records before moving on to the majors; first A&M, then Columbia, where they scored two platinum albums and won a Best Rock Song Grammy for “Runaway Train.”

Clam Dip & Other Delights was their parting release for Twin/Tone before signing to major label, A&M Records. As the liner notes say, “The band got to record a bunch of things that likely would never have made it to an album, raw and all over the map stylistically, but sounding vital even 30 years removed.”

Produced by Twin/Tone Records co-founder and Replacements manager, Peter Jesperson and Grammy®-winner, Cheryl Pawelski, these expanded reissues of Soul Asylum’s 3rd and EP collect rare outtakes and demos from this era, including seven bonus tracks as well as four completely unreleased songs. The packaging provides an array of never before seen photos, artwork, flyers and liner notes written by Jon Wurster of Superchunk fame.


    LP Track List:
    Side 1:

  1. Just Plain Evil
  2. Chains
  3. Secret No More
  4. Move Over
  5. P-9
  6. Juke Box Hero
    Side 2:

  1. Artificial Heart
  2. Take It To The Root
  3. Saving Grace
  4. Forever And A Day
  5. There It Goes
  6. Artificial Heart (Demo)
    All tracks on this LP are also available on While You Were Out CD.

Cat: OV-315

Categories: , , ,