Welcome to Omnivore Recordings

Bob Mould — Workbook 25

Bob Mould — Workbook 25

Bob Mould

Workbook 25

Release date: February 25, 2011


Buy 2-CD $19.98

Debut solo album from Bob Mould issued as 25th Anniversary 2-CD edition!

[blackquote2]“Bob Mould’s Workbook, a plaintive, sepia-toned, glimmering, acid-scratched, coal-black masterpiece of disgust, dissolution and redemption. It’s meditative acoustics and electric feedback squall preceded and even predicted the sonics of several albums by Mould’s contemporaries. Workbook haunted my Walkman in 1989. So glad it’s back for the 21st century.”

—Scott Devendorf, The National

[/blackquote2] [blackquote2]“Bob Mould has been one of my favourite artists for the last 30 years, and Workbook is a great album”

—Richard Thompson


Alt-rock superstars Hüsker Dü called it a day on January 28, 1988, but the band’s Bob Mould would reappear in May 1989 with his first solo album—the incredibly impassioned and personal Workbook.

In addition to writing and producing the entire album, Mould sang all the vocals and played many of the instruments, sharing duties with The Golden Palominos’ Anton Fier on drums, Pere Ubu’s Tony Maimone (bass) and cellist Jane Scarpantoni from Tiny Lights. While always recognized as an astonishing guitarist, Mould’s fretwork on Workbook traveled to levels yet unheard or imagined.

The album has since taken on iconic status, and Omnivore is proud to present the 25th Anniversary edition; Workbook 25.

In addition to the original album’s 11 tracks, the first disc of this 2-CD collection adds “All Those People Know,” originally issued as the B-side of the single “See A Little Light.” The second disc is Bob’s complete 1989 performance at Chicago’s Cabaret Metro. 13 of the 17 tracks are previously unissued and the show contains music from the then, two-week old, Workbook, Hüsker Dü favorites and a cover of Richard & Linda Thompson’s classic “Shoot Out The Lights.”

As innovative as Hüsker Dü was, fans had to wonder if Bob Mould could take them on another journey as rewarding. Workbook not only proved he could, but did.


    2-CD Track List:
    Side 1:

  1. Sunspots
  2. Wishing Well
  3. Heartbreak A Stranger
  4. See A Little Light
  5. Poison Years
  6. Sinners And Their Repentances
  7. Brasilia Crossed With Trenton
  8. Composotions For The Young And Old
  9. Lonely Afternoon
  10. Dreaming, I Am
  11. Whichever Way The Wind Blows
  12. All Those People Know
    Side 2 – Live At The Cabaret Metro::

  1. Sunspots
  2. Wishing Well
  3. Composotions For The Young And Old*
  4. Heartbreak A Stranger
  5. Dreaming, I Am
  6. If You’re True*
  7. Poison Years*
  8. Sinners And Their Repentances
  9. Lonely Afternoon
  10. Brasilia Crossed With Trenton*
  11. See A Little Light
  12. Whichever Way The Wind Blows
  13. All Those People Know
  14. Shoot Out The Lights*
  15. Hardly Getting Over It
  16. Celebrated Summer
  17. Makes No Sense At All
    All tracks on Disc 2 previously unissued except *.

Cat: OV-36

Categories: , , , ,